• Follow real france on WordPress.com
  • Archives

  • Auvers sur Oise

  • antibes

  • Paris

  • chantilly

the village ass

I’ve been here for more than a week and not once have I been startled by the blast of a car alarm or siren.   I’m starting to get used to the only ambient noise being the din of twittering birds.

So while taking a stroll on the narrow side streets of Auvers, a shocking sound blasted me from my reveries.   At first it sounded like a loud impact, and then horrible wailing  sounds unlike anything I’ve heard.

There’s a man down the street who doesn’t appear to notice and I wonder if he citizens of Auvers are as jaded as New Yorkers.

I run towards the source of the awful sounds and there he is.  What a pleasant surprise!

I’m accustomed to braying asses disturbing the peace in my old neighborhood, but they were of the two legged variety.

Leave a Reply

