• Follow real france on WordPress.com
  • Archives

  • Auvers sur Oise

  • antibes

  • Paris

  • chantilly

tete de mort

I’ve given this a great deal of thought.  Much more thought that I’ve given what I’m going to do with my life.    I want a scarf with skulls on it.  I know, the whole skull thing is over or at least overdone.  It’s a cliche.  A skull scarf is the equivalent of a tattoo or extra piercing for people who are too scared to get a tattoo or extra piercing.  It’s for those who want to wear black leather and either can’t afford it or just can’t quite pull it off.

But I’ve made a decision, dammit and I’m sticking to it.  My act of rebellion will be that I won’t buy the gazillion dollar Alexander McQueen version.   No sirree,  I plan to pick up my skull scarf at the Antibes clothes market for 7 Euro.

I ask the kindofhot guy selling the scarves “je voudrais l’echarpe avec les…skulls.  Comme que dit “skull?”   He has no idea what I’m talking about.   I point at a skull on the scarf and ask “qu’est que c’est?”

“Ahhh”, he said, “c’est une tete de mort!”

Okay, that makes sense–head of death.   I try to imprint it into my memory banks.   As I pay him for the scarf, I repeat quietly to myself:   “tete de mort, tete de mort, tete de mort.”

As I’m leaving, I hear the man murmuring over and over, “skull, skull, skull.”

I’m so glad I’m here living among the French.   We have so much to learn from each other!

4 Responses

  1. i’m sitting in an RV park in Mendocino right now. i think you and your skull scarf are winning.

    • WordPress doesn’t seem to be alerting me when I get comments. Sorry for the delayed response. It’s THEIR fault!!!
      Has anyone gotten carsick? Mendocino is a site for many of my fondest childhood carsick memories.

  2. So you really are a deadhead like me!

Leave a Reply

